ASEAN, ASEAN was formed to speed up

ASEAN, The Association of South East Asian Nations was formed on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok by Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand, only to be joined by Brunei Darussalam in 1984, Vietnam in 1995, Laos & Myanmar in 1997 and Cambodia in 1999.
ASEAN was formed to speed up the growth of the economy, social progress & development of culture through helping each other out in equality and partnership while promoting peace & stability throughout the region, having respect for justice and the rule of the law amongst the countries in the South East Asian region, to strengthen the foundation for community of Southeast Asian nations which is prosperous and peaceful.
The activities carried out by ASEAN are planned by the different member countries. As the environmental pollution is an issue, member countries plan activities that deal with environmental issues, have conferences, hold camps and hold a Green Week in conjunction with World Environment Day, to name a few. The representatives from the member countries hold meetings throughout the year in the various countries around the globe. However, most of these meetings are held in Asia. They also take part in courses and workshops on transport, terrorism and such. These meetings are usually based on the Transnational Issues that ASEAN is concerned about. These Transnational Issues are the Environment, Transboundary Haze, Transnational Crime & Terrorism, Legal Cooperation, Immigration, Drugs and Civil Services.
ASEAN keeps close relations with other countries by having each member country to coordinate with the other different countries that do not belong in ASEAN. These other countries are Australia, China, European Union (EU), Canada, India, Japan, Republic of Korea, New Zealand, Russia and the United States of America. This coordination is held in 3 year cycles, rotating between the member countries to act as coordinators. ASEAN also holds conferences with the vario