The Federal Republic of Nigeria is a large country in western Africa, bordering the Golf of Guinea, and between Benin and Cameroon.It is the most populous country in Africa, although they will soon be outnumbered by Kenya. Nigeria is a tropical country rich in oil and other natural resources.
Ever since gaining it's independence from the United Kingdom on October First,1960, there have been constant struggles for power. In 1966,a revolution led by Major Chukwuma Kaduna Nzeogwu, took over the government killing the Northern Premier Alhaji Ahmadu Bello, Western Premier S. L. Akintola and the Federal Prime minister Alhaju Abubkar Tafawa Balewa. After much struggle, Lt. Col. Yakubu Gowon became dictator. However, in 1967, Col. Odumegwu Ojukwu withdrew the eastern region of Nigeria from Nigeria, and declared it the independent republic of Biafra, and war breaks out again. From 1968 to 1970, the Federal government of Nigeriareclaimed the Biafran territory, and Col. Odemengwu Ojukwu fled the country.
For about five years, peace settled on Nigeria.Then in 1975, leader Yakubu Gowon was overthrown in a bloodless coup.A coup is a sudden appropriation of leadership or power. Brig. Murtala Ramat Muhammed takes his place of supreme leadership. Shortly afterwards, the country's capitol is relocated to Abuja, and the country is divided into 19 states. That same year, Muhammed was assassinated in another coup, which involved former dictator Yakubu Gowon. However, a new leader Lt. Gen. Olusegun Obasanjo is put into position.
In 1978, a new constitution is adopted by the then military government. A new House of Representatives, and Senate are elected, as is president Shehu Shagari, Nigeria'sfirst elected civilian president in about thirteen years. In the year 1982, the government expelled over two million non-Nigerians from the country. After President Shagari is reelected to the presidency in